Forgot Login?   Register  

About Us - Navan Education Centre

OUR MOTTO: "Serve, Sustain and Strengthen the Education Community."

Navan Education & Support Centre (NESC) reaches out to the Education Community to influence positively its quality of life by providing for all concerned support resources, training and opportunities for personal and professional development.
NESC,  one of 21 such full-time Centres throughout the country, provides support for teachers, schools, principals, Boards of Management and allied school personnel in counties Meath and Louth. The region has approximately 214 schools, both primary and post primary. Navan also gives professional ICT support to the schools and teachers of Co Cavan. In total we support over 4,000 teachers and allied school personnel.


Local Courses

Breda Johnson 

I have over 20 year’s experience working in Navan Education & Support Centre.  I am the administrator for Local courses for primary and post primary schools (Spring, Summer & Autumn) in Meath and Louth.

I administer Local Projects for primary and post primary schools in Meath and Louth. As the administrator  for  NIPT (National Induction Programme for Teachers) covering Meath and Louth for many years, I am responsible for administering the Induction Workshop Programme (IWP) for newly qualified primary and post-primary teachers (NQTs).

I also look after the NIPT Droichead cluster meetings and Droichead training for primary and post primary NQT’s and schools  in Meath and Louth. 


Esther Herlihy 

 I provide administrative support for the Professional Development Service for Teachers (PDST) for the following National Programmes and  Subject areas: Leaving Certificate Vocational Programme (LCVP), Transition Year (TY), Accounting, Economics, Business, Modern Foreign Languages, Home Economics and Young Economist of the Year (YEOTY).

I have worked within the Navan Education Support Centre for over 20 years. In collaboration with PDST Team Leaders Sharon Kiely, (LCVP, Business suite of subjects and YEOTY) Stephen Gammell (TY) and Mona Metcalfe (MFL and HE) we provide professional development and support for teachers and schools.

Support Services

Trish McCafferty 

I am the Support Services Administrator for Navan Education & Support Centre and am responsible for National Programmes, including PDST Primary & Post Primary, JCT Seminars & Clusters and NCSE. I have worked in Administration & Accounts for most of my adult life, however, the two years that I have become a part of the NESC team have been my most enjoyable to date.


Aoife Gargan 

Aoife is a Receptionist and Administrator with the Centre. She has worked in various departments within the Education Support Centre since starting in 2006 and has a wide knowledge of the educational sector.


 Brendan Daly

Jim Brannelly


Other Personnel based in the Centre

  • NCCA – Patrick Sullivan
  • NCCA - Dónal Ó Buachalla
  • NCSE - Dervla Mulligan
  • NCSE - Maureen Smith

Navan Education & Support Centre Strategic Plan 2020-2023


The following make up the Navan Education Centre Management Committee.
  • Chair – John Condon
  • Vice Chair – Muireann Broderick
  • Treasurer – Clíodhna Devlin
  • Committee – Bernadette Clarke-McGuinness, Pauline Egan, Jennifer Bowser, Mary Toland, Byran Leonard, Laura Kearns, Michael Farry, Louise Carey, Brien Kearns, Dermot Carney
  • Secretary – Éadaoin McGovern


In 1972, an invitation was send to all Primary and Post-Primary schools in County Meath to nominate teachers to attend a general meeting in the CYMS hall in Navan - now the Community Centre - in connection with the establishment of a Teachers' Centre in the town. There was a large attendance at the meeting and officials from the Department of Education outlined the purposes and aims of the new centres, which were being set up at that time in various parts of the country. At the meeting in the CYMS hall several teachers were nominated to form a steering committee to run the Navan Teachers' Centre. The centre in Navan was among the first centres established in the country.

The local inspector of schools, Mr Brendan Molloy, was commissioned to organise accommodation and to purchase some basic items of furniture for the centre. Two rooms were rented in what was the old Vocational School, now the planning section of Meath County Council, and chairs, a desk and an ink duplicator were purchased. The first meeting of the steering committee was held on Thursday June 15th 1972 at 8.30pm. The minutes of that meeting record the fact that Mr Pat Whitelaw was elected chairman and Mr Jim Culligan was elected as the Centre's first Secretary/Director.

In 1974 the Teachers’ Centre moved to St. Anne’s Loreto Convent. This was its home up until 1989 when St. Anne’s closed and the entire convent along with the Loreto Sisters moved to St. Michael’s in Athlumney. From then until December 2000, the centre was accommodated in a wing of the convent. In 1997 the Department of Education and Science announced that the centre in Navan was to be accorded full time status. The search was now on for a site for a new building. Having considered a number of options, the present site on the corner of the Loreto grounds was chosen. Construction of the new centre began in November 1999. One year later the building was complete and the links with Loreto now entered a new phase.


Cuireann suíomh gréasáin ITOE (Ionaid Tacaíochta Oideachais na hÉireann) sceideal de na cúrsaí go léir ó Ionaid Tacaíochta Oideachais ar fáil go náisiúnta.

The ESCI (Education Support Centres Ireland website lists all available courses and events from Education Support Centres  nationwide.

Contact the Centre

  • Reception

    353-46 9067040

  • Email
    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Co. Meath.
Eir Code: C15 RK03

Navan Education

Support Centre

Opening hours

  • Mon - Fri
    09:00 - 17:30
  • Weekend
    By appointment